Leading Rider: Catherine Drain and Alaska-M

The Northern Ireland Outdoor Amateur Championship 2018 was held on Saturday 18th August 2018. The Kernan Equestrian Centre Amateur Committee wish to sincerely thank our sponsors for their very generous support: Procon Sky Hire; Horse First Supplements; Clarman Architects and Premier Saddlery.

Two magnificent Perpetual Trophies were presented at the show.  The ‘Maggie Murphy Memorial Perpetual Trophy’ was presented  to Catherine Drain winner of the “Grand Prix” on her horse Alaska-M. The ‘Frank Kernan Memorial Perpetual Trophy’ went to Alexander Bailey and Callie LVSZ winners of the “Power & Speed” class.

Unbeatable pace

The jumping had everyone on the edge of their seats, especially as third to jump in the Procon Sky Hire sponsored One Round Speed class, “AA” rider Ian Moore on Triple C set a cracking pace, finishing in a time of 56.83 secs which proved unbeatable. Karen Pearson second to go set the pace on Quantum Classic finishing on a good time of 61.87 secs placing her  2nd.  Michelle Brannigan and Toome Cruising Jimmy finished 3rd in 62.02secs.

1st prize winner in the One Round Speed sponsored by Procon Sky Hire: Ian Moore and Triple C. Presentation by Ryan Fegan.

The next class the Horse First sponsored Power & Speed was a qualifier for the Farmers Journal A Championship and also a Dingos qualifier.

1st prize winner in the Power & Speed sponsored by Horse First: Alexandra Bailey and Callie LVS. Presentation by committee member Margaret Fullerton.

It was equally as hot with Alexandra Bailey  and Callie LVS making the turns that made the difference to take 1st place in 39.21secs. Alexandra managed to hold on to her lead till the end although Laura Carrick and My Foxy Lass second last to go made a valiant attempt but their time of 39.44secs just wasn’t fast enough so they quite happily settled for 2nd place.

Leading Rider

Third place went to Donegal man Seamus Og Campbell and Killymard Flight whose time of 39.85 secs gave them 3rd place.  Catherine Drain’s 6th placing in this event and with another win under her belt taking 1st in the Grand Prix contributed to her being crowned Leading Rider of the show. Catherine was presented with her winner’s sash and special prize of a TRI Equestrian voucher sponsored by Kernan E.C.

Grand Prix

 The Grand Prix sponsored by Clarman Architects didn’t disappoint with the skill of jumping from the riders. Out of a field of forty three starters eighteen went through to the jumpoff.  “AA” rider Catherine Drain onboard Alaske-M secured the 1st place with her quick turns in an excellent time of 38.88secs.

1st prize winner in the Grand Prix sponsored by Clarman Architects: Catherine Drain and Alaska-M. Presentation by Jim Maneely and committee member Roisin Hughes.

Brian Kennedy hot on her heels kept his cool on Looks Easy but finishing 2.03secs slower than Catherine he finished in 2nd place.

Sheik Samir Mirdad was in the ribbons again taking 3rd place on his second horse Mirdads Fareeedat Alrahmaaan (42.61ecs).

4th went to Peter Dargan on Temple  Cruise (44.23sec); 5th to Catherine Chambers and Seapatrick Beachball (46.53secs) and 6th to Taryn McClurkin and Innocense (47.15secs). This class was a qualifier for the Leddy League and the SJI Amateur Autumn Series Final.

Congratulations to Lorraine Patton and Castleroche Pretty Woman voted “Best Turned Out”.

All at Kernan Equestrian Centre wish to extend their sincere thanks to the Amateur Committee, Eileen Duggan, Margaret Fullerton, Roisin Hughes, Lynn Kelly and Joe Hughes for all the hard work that went into making this a very successful and Fun Day.