Winners of Schools Environmental Calendar Competition
BACK ROW L-R Sharath Chandra Vadiyala Abbey CBS Newry, Alice Ballentine Shimna Integrated College Newcastle, Kathleen McEvoy Our Lady's Grammar School Newry, Cara Donaghy Saint Joseph's High School Crossmaglen, Ellie Jo McCabe, Saint Malachy's High School Castlewellan, MIDDLE ROW L-R Lily Ferguson Annalong Primary School, Lucia Vallely Saint Malachy's Primary School Ballymoyer, Reannah Patterson Kilkeel High School, FRONT ROW L-R Peter Kelly Ballyholland Primary School, Méabh Hull Saint Joseph's Primary School Strangford, Chairperson Newry, Mourne and Down Council, Councillor Roisin Mulgrew, Katie McGivern Sacred Heart Grammar School Newry, Donnchadh Murdock Carrick Primary School Burren, Sarah Jane McNally Saint Colman's Primary School Saval.

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council held a reception at Council Offices for primary and secondary school pupils, to reveal the winning posters in this year’s Schools’ Environmental Calendar poster competition.

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council Chairperson, Councillor Roisin Mulgrew said, “I am pleased to present the winners with a specially framed copy of their winning poster as part of their prize. I would like to congratulate the winners and the pupils whose posters were shortlisted, who also received certificates of achievement. I’d like to thank all the pupils who participated in this competition, from sixty two schools across the district. The winning artwork, on display here today, is outstanding and I am really looking forward to seeing the completed calendar in December.”

The winning pupils are:

  • Front Cover – Katie McGivern, Sacred Heart Grammar School, Newry
  • January – Sarah-Jane McNally, Saint Colman’s Primary School, Saval
  • February – Reannah Patterson, Kilkeel High School
  • March – Lily Ferguson, Annalong Primary School
  • April – Peter Kelly, Ballyholland Primary School
  • May – Alice Ballentine, Shimna Integrated College, Newcastle
  • June – Donnchadh Murdock, Carrick Primary School, Burren
  • July – Kathleen McEvoy, Our Lady’s Grammar School, Newry
  • August – Méabh Hull, Saint Joseph’s Primary School, Strangford
  • September – Cara Donaghy, Saint Joseph’s High School, Crossmaglen
  • October – Sharath Chandra Vadiyala, Abbey CBS, Newry
  • November – Ellie Jo McCabe, Saint Malachy’s High School, Castlewellan
  • December – Lucia Vallely, Saint Malachy’s Primary School, Ballymoyer

The calendars will be issued to each of the participating schools.

The Schools Environmental Calendar has been published every year since 2004 and this 2018 Edition is the 15th in the series to date. Pupils from primary and secondary schools throughout the district were asked to design a poster with an environmental theme of their choice.

In total sixty-two schools took part this year with three hundred pupils shortlisted for consideration for the final calendar. The three hundred shortlisted pupils each were awarded with Certificates of Achievement.

Thirteen posters were chosen, with one to feature on the calendar’s front cover, the other twelve each representing each month of the year. The top prize was a Kindle Fire HD and each of the 12 runners-up received a prize of a £50 voucher. All thirteen pupils receive a framed copy of their poster to keep as a memento along with their prize.